The Hunting of the Snark

07/05/2010

Re: Fwd: Fwd: fw: fwd: FWD: Your forward

Filed under: Snarky — Jeremy Irish @ 07:00
Tags: , , , , , ,

To: A.Friend
From: Jeremy.Irish
Subject: Re: Fwd: Fwd: fw: fwd: FWD: Your forward
Date: 7 May 2010

Hello,

Thank you for sharing this. I’m glad you enjoyed it and I appreciate your thinking of me when you decided to send it on.

It was indeed amusing/inspirational/touching/intriguing. So I understand why I have been asked to continue passing the message to others who may like it, although that probably is best left to my judgment, don’t you think?

On the other hand, the request to send a copy of it directly back to YOU puzzles me. You’ve seen it already, haven’t you? Do you actually want to read it again that many times? Sending a message with graphics/sound clips/videos uses up a lot of bandwidth and energy, and I feel certain you would agree it’s not good to burn trees for no reason. (To avoid confusion: sending an email ‘back’ takes just as much bandwidth and energy as sending it ‘forward’.) Tell you what, I’ll try hard to send you a quick note or a different forward once in a while instead.

Likewise, it would be very nice to avoid emotional/spiritual/circumstantial blackmail in forwards regarding how I use them—after all, in the distant past, i.e., a couple of weeks ago, it was a complete stranger to me who originally wrote these promises of inner peace/unexpected riches/deep shame/true love. Would you mind just deleting such lines before sending future messages? Not only does it make them nicer and more readable, but it’s a chance for you to demonstrate that you care enough for ME to take those few minutes.

If you have any thoughts about this, I would love to hear a reply from you.

As long as you DON’T simply return this message unedited, I’ll know we are cool.

– The@Snark

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

